Join Us

By joining you will be actively enabling us to commission reports, apply for licences, keep our website running, company reports and accounts. Not a penny of your membership fee will go to the committee members. We are all volunteers. If you feel you can help further in any way e.g. putting some hours in to help make applications for funding, liaising with various stakeholders, or anything else that pops up then please let us know. There are only a few of us and we could always use a little help. It’s a big project.

You can also pay by cheque made payable to ‘Tennant Canal Association CIC’ addressed to 24 The Meadows, Skewen, Neath SA10 6SJ


Rick Hughes – Chairman

chairman@tennantcanal.wales, rick@tennantcanal.wales

Living close to the canal, I enjoy walking it and paddling my kayak on it and I am passionate about getting more leisure use of the canal for all. I have a particular interest in the history of Jersey Marine in general, and its involvement with the canal, and finding out about the Industrial history of sometimes hidden & forgotten parts of the canal infrastructure. My main hobbies are boating, kayaking & scuba diving. I have worked in Professional Services as a Programme Manager/Director for the last 25 years.

Ann Swindale – Membership Secretary

membership@tennantcanal.wales, ann@tennantcanal.wales

I am a retired social worker. I have been interested in canals for many years, and have walked and holidayed on much of the UK canal network.

Jason Lovering – Committee Member

Jason@tennantcanal.wales

I am a senior care assistant in a local care home, I have worked in the care sector for over 20 years. I started fishing on the Tennant canal when I was about 9 years old and have walked it many times over the years it’s such a lovely place with lots of different wildlife.

Paul Hanlon – Technical Support

support@tennantcanal.wales, paul@tennantcanal.wales

I moved to a house by the Tennant canal 20 years ago because it was so beautiful. The canal has changed over the years but most dramatically after the long-standing supply of water from the river Neath was halted! It’s now under extreme threat from both flood and drought. We formed a community interest company to focus efforts on stakeholder engagement in restoration but need all the help we can get 🙂 Join us.

Jonathan Rhodes – Treasurer

treasurer@tennantcanal.wales, Jon@tennantcanal.wales

I moved to Canalside 17 years ago, a flood and a lot of DIY hasn’t put me off, I love it here. I have come to understand the workings of the Tennant Canal over the years, discovering new facts all the time. I recognise now that the canal is in real danger of drying out in a hot summer, the weir in the river Neath must be restored this is our number one priority.



We’ll make sure to only send intersting info, no crappy content or marketing fluff. Just the good stuff, promise!


Save The Tennant Canal


Save The Tennant Canal |  Made by The Community